Home‎ > ‎Daily Item News Articles‎ > ‎

1948 Graduation Article

Daily Evening Item Lynn, Mass.
Published: Saturday, June 12, 1948, Page 5
Source: Lynn Public Library Microfilm


First Graduation Held

At Vocational School 


Click here to enlarge photo 

    Honor Participants in the Vocational High School graduation last night at which a class of 70 students received diplomas included: Top left, Earl Martel, essayist; top right, William Hamilton, essayist; lower left, John Dorgan, essayist; lower right, John Mercer, perfect attendance prize winner. The commencement exercises were the first held at the newly designated high school.

Class of 70 Win Diplomas

At Fine Program Last Night
    Lynn’s newly designated third secondary school, Vocational High School, held its first graduation ceremony last night at which a class of 70 seniors were awarded diplomas by Mayor Stuart A. Tarr.  The commencement exercises were held in the Classical High School Auditorium before a capacity audience of parents and friends of the graduates.
    A highlight of the exercises included written essays on topics relative to mechanical skills, read by four outstanding students, selected for their scholastic achievements.  Harold D. Baker, assistant supervisor of personnel at the River Works of the General Electric Company, served as commencement speaker.
    The class of 70 pupils is the largest of similar high schools in Massachusetts.  Principal Ralph W. Babb opened the commencement program with Scripture readings and later welcomed the guests.  He also cited several honor students and awarded the Washington-Franklin Medal to Donald Johnson, Jr. of the junior class for excellence in American history.
    Named as outstanding seniors for scholastic ability were: Richard Sweeney, John Dorgan, William Hamilton and Earl Martel.  A citation for perfect attendance, non-tardiness and non-dismissal was awarded to John Mercer, Jr.  Spelling awards were scored by Kenneth Hunt, first prize, and William Sweeney, second place.  
    Honor students who delivered essays were: Richard Sweeney on “Machine Drafting in Modern Industry”; John Dorgan on “Machinists are Skilled Workers”; William Hamilton on “Evolution of Furniture Design”; Earl Martel on “Vocational Training: An Important Part of an Educational System.”

    The processional march “Pomp and Circumstance” was rendered by the Cobbet Junior High School Orchestra and a student choral group rendered several selections.  Miss Louise E. Goss a member of the Cobbet Junior High School faculty served as piano accompanist.

    A pledge to the American Flag was led by George LeBlanc, aided by Thomas Farrell, color bearer; John Dorgan and James Barton, color guards.  Ushers were: Edward Viricel, Vincent LeBlanc, Richard Pote, Thomas Moulton, Leonard Kalayinski, Bruce Pinney and Dana Walfield, all members of the Junior Class.

    Students who participated as members of the chorus include: first tenors, Richard Nadworny, Thomas Farrell and Constantine Diamantides; second tenors, James Barton, George Diamantides, Paul Luca, and Sco Socates Maravelias; baritones, Edward Walek, James Scott, Frederick Devitt and Carmen Marinos; basses, Rene Tudal, Richard Kirby and George LeBlanc.


    The graduates include: George Leslie Abbott, James Callingwood Allard, Jr., John Richard Barry, James Edward Barton, Jr., Victor Bergendahl, Richard Carl Bloom, Howard Kenneth Brown, John Eugene Colella, Gerald Raymond Day, Alfred E. Delehanty, Alexander Demitropoulos, Joseph Daniel DePrizito, Frederick Edward Devitt, Constantin Diamantides, George Diamantides, John Francis Dorgan, Herbert William Emmons, Robert Evens and Thomas Joseph Farrell, Jr.

    Howard Lindy Flanders,Richard Forrest, Robert A. Forrest, Richard Harvey Getchell, Vincent S. Glowik, John William Gowell, James Wilfred Green, Jr., James Cameron Scott, Joseph Leonard Scott, Jual James Shanahan, Edward M. Shvinski, Richard Gay Stevens, Richard Sweeney, William Edward Sweeney, Robert Clifton Tinkham, Henry Joseph Tomczykowski.

    Also William Richard Hamilton, Jr., Eugene Francis Howard, Milton Kenneth Hunt, Samuel James Husson, Charles E. Hyde, Jr., Laurence E. Jacobs, Nelson Richard Kirby, Robert George Langlois, George Walter LeBlanc, Joseph Edward Leighton, George William Lewis, Richard Arnold Little, Paul Louis Lucia, Earl Franklin MacEachern, Socrates Angelo Maravelias, Carmen Joseph Marino, Earl Allan Martel, John Hubert Mercer, Jr.

    Richard Charles Nadworny, William Anthony Patten, Frank Calvin Morley, Roland John Muise, Herbert Nelson McRae, John Morgan Pearce, Mario J. Persia, Roy Edmund Richards, James George Tournas, Peter George Tournas, Rene Henry Tudal, Edward Joseph Walak, Herbert Henry Weeks, Jr., Robert William Weyman, Richard Mills White, Joseph Arthur Wood, and Charles Henry Young.